Richard Friesner.

Friesner Hosts City Council Campaign Kick-Off Sunday

by | Dec 13, 2014 | Government

Richard K. Friesner is hosting his official Fredericksburg City Council campaign kick-off from 6 – 8 p.m. Sunday, March 9.  Friesner is running for Ward 3.

The event will be held at Libertytown Arts Workshop, 916 Liberty St., Fredericksburg. “Learn about me and my family, and my vision for the future of Fredericksburg,” Friesner said in a press release.  The event will include refreshments and live music by local artists.  Friesner is currently the city’s Planning Commission chairman.

The Ward 3 seat is currently held by Fred Howe, who is not running for reelection.  Tim P. Duffy is the other candidate for the Ward 3 seat.  Duffy is the assistant principal at Walker–Grant Middle School.

The Fredericksburg City Council and School Board election will be held May 6, 2014.  The city’s four ward seats are on ballot, but not the seat for mayor or the at-large seats. The other city council candidates on the ballot are:

Ward 1

Brad C. Ellis.  He has held the seat since July 2010, and is running unopposed.

Ward 2

 William C. “Billy” Withers.  Withers is a lifelong Fredericksburg resident who previously served on City Council and the Fredericksburg School Board.  He is running unopposed.  Current Ward 2 Councilman George Solley, who has served for eight years,  is not seeking re-election.

Ward 3

Tim P. Duffy.  He is the assistant principal at Walker Grant Middle School.
Richard K. Friesner.  He is currently chairman of the Fredericksburg Planning Commission.

Ward 4

Charlie L. “Chuck” Frye, Jr.
Beatrice R. “Bea” Paolucci.  Paolucci is running for reelection.
Hashmel C. Turner, Jr.  Turner served on City Council from 2002 – 2006.  During his tenure, he filed suit against City Council.

Candidates for school board will be covered in future stories.  They are Elizabeth R. Rehm for Ward 1, Barbara A. Miller-Richards for Ward 2, Jannan W. Holmes for Ward 3 and Malvina Rollins Kay for Ward 4.

Fredericksburg City Council is comprised of a mayor and six council members. The mayor and two council members are elected at-large.   The remaining four council members are elected to represent one of four wards.  Council members and the mayor serve four-year, staggered terms, with elections held every two years in May.

A map of the city’s four wards is available online.

Editor’s Note:  Every effort was made to locate a website and/or social media link for each city council candidate. 

Thank you for reading.  Follow Fredericksburg.Today on Facebook and Twitter, too.

Subscribe To Daily News Updates

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news from The Free Press

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This