Council Members Take Oath of Office

by | Jun 7, 2015 | Government

By Susan Larson

Four city council members took the oath of office July 1 in a ceremony at Town Hall Market House.

William Withers (Ward 2), Timothy Duffy (Ward 3), Charlie Frye, Jr. (Ward 4) are new members of council, elected in the May 6 city election.  Brad Ellis (Ward 1) won another term.

Congressman Rob Wittman presented keynote remarks before the Honorable Gordon F. Willis, presiding judge for the City of Fredericksburg Circuit Court, presented the oath of office to the newly elected council members.

During a brief organizational meeting, City Council elected Billy Withers vice mayor.  They then reappointed City Attorney Kathleen Dooley, Clerk of the Council Tonya B. Lacey and Deputy Clerk of the Council Brenda T. Martin.

City Council members are elected for four year terms, with elections staggered by two years. The three at-large seats currently held by Mayor Mary Katherine Greenlaw, Kerry Devine and Matt Kelly will be elected in 2016.

Town Hall Market House at 907 Princess Anne St, where the oath of office ceremony took place, is the second oldest continuously used town hall in the United States.

Related Stories:
Fredericskburg Election Results: Duffy, Frye Win
City Council Candidates Answer Your Questions
City Council Candidate Forum April 9
Thank you for reading.  Follow Fredericksburg.Today on Facebook and Twitter, too


Subscribe To Daily News Updates

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news from The Free Press

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This