Historic Fredericksburg Foundation 2016 Preservation Awards

by | Apr 12, 2016 | Business

The Historic Fredericksburg Foundation, Inc, (HFFI) presented its 2016 Preservation Awards during their annual meeting.

The awards acknowledge the individuals and groups who have made exceptional contributions to historic preservation in the Fredericksburg region.

E. Boyd Graves Preservation Award
Publicly recognizes notable preservation achievements made by groups or individuals during the previous year that contribute to the protection, understanding, appreciation, and revitalization of the Fredericksburg region’s history and historic resources.

Sugar Shack Donuts
For the innovative adaptive reuse and respect for historic character while renovating a former gas station at 801 William St. to be a donut shop.

Washington Heritage Museums, Mary Washington House
For the dedicated efforts, in conjunction with fellow organizations, to renovate and maintain the Mary Washington House garden and outbuildings.

Fahmey Abdelatey and the Fredericksburg Architectural Review Board (ARB)
For their combined efforts resulting in the sensitive infill project at 1317 Charles St.

Dr. Edward Alvey Educational Award
Fredericksburg Circuit Court Archives
In recognition of the new archive facilities and the outstanding work done by the staff and volunteers to assist researchers and conserve Fredericksburg’s court history.

President’s Exceptional Service Award
Presented to an individual, group, organization, or agency that demonstrates notable leadership and initiative in support of preservation in the Fredericksburg area during the previous year.

Nancy Moore
In recognition of her multifaceted work to support Fredericksburg’s historic preservation efforts.

President’s Special Recognition Award
Ronald Shibley
In honor of his generous donation of his remaining inventory of his book “In Fredericksburg: The Past and Presence of an Old Virginia Town.”

The Lillian D. Reed Volunteer Award
Leslie Pugh and Richard Hansen
For their many years of volunteering and dedication to HFFI, including nine years each on the Board of Directors.

To learn more about the HFFI Preservation Awards, and to see previous winners, visit HFFI Preservation Awards.

Share This