Reminder: 4pm Burn Law in effect

by | Feb 26, 2023 | Uncategorized

Virginia’s 4:00 p.m. burn law goes is in effect.   (https://dof.virginia.gov/wildland-prescribed-fire/fire-laws/4-pm-burning-law/). The law remains in effect until Sunday, April 30th. Approved burning may take place between 4:00 p.m. and 12:00 midnight only. Even approved burning must be constantly attended with a method of extinguishment.

The law prohibits open air burning before the hours of 4:00 p.m. daily if your fire is in or within 300 feet of the woodland, brushland or fields containing dry grass or other flammable materials. During this time, winds can be elevated, and the relative humidity is lower; the forest/field floor fuels are extremely dry, having “cured” without tree leaves to shade them. Typically, by 4:00 p.m., the winds are calmer, and the relative humidity begins to increase.

This ban applies to all open burning, including campfires with the exception of fires completely contained and covered by a metal screen with ¼” or smaller openings such as commercially available chimineas or fire pits. Remember, any illegal burning is a violation of Virginia and County Code and may result in criminal misdemeanor charges with penalties up to one year in jail and a $2,500.00 fine. A violation of the 4PM Burning Law is a Class 3 misdemeanor
with a fine of not more than $500.

For more information on open burning, please call the Fire Marshal’s Office at (703) 792-6360
or visit us online at https://www.pwcva.gov/department/fire-marshals-office/burningregulations

Subscribe To Daily News Updates

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news from The Free Press

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This