Mayor Mary Katherine Greenlaw

Mayor Greenlaw Announces Bid for Re-Election

by | Mar 4, 2016 | Government

By Susan Larson. Photo provided by the candidate.

Mayor Mary Katherine Greenlaw has announced her candidacy for re-election.

The city’s May 3, 2016, council election is for mayor, and for the two at-large council seats currently held by council members Kerry Devine and Matt Kelly. Kelly announced his re-election bid in January.

“During my first term as Mayor, numerous exciting initiatives have progressed, and I am committed to their fruition,” Mayor Greenlaw said in a press release. She mentioned the planned Riverfront Park, the expansion of the city trail system, city council’s support of Fredericksburg Main Street, Inc., the city’s forthcoming procurement officer and preservation planner positions, and increased business tax revenue over the past four years.

Mayor Greenlaw is a Fredericksburg native who graduated from James Monroe High School and Mary Washington College.

Greenlaw held an at-large seat on Fredericksburg City Council from 2008 – 12, before being elected mayor.

Previous to her tenure on city council, Mayor Greenlaw served eight years on the Fredericksburg Planning Commission. She also previously represented the city on the George Washington Regional Commission, the Fredericksburg Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (FAMPO), the Rappahannock Juvenile Detention Facility, and the Rappahannock Area Agency on Aging.

Mayor Greenlaw represents the city on the Fredericksburg Regional Alliance and the Fredericksburg Area Museum and Cultural Center board . She is currently chair of the Mary Washington Hospital Foundation. She is also a former board member of the Thurman Brisben Center and a founding member of the Fredericksburg Festival of the Arts.

Fredericksburg City Council
Fredericksburg City Council is composed of a mayor and six council members. The mayor and two council members are elected at-large, and the remaining four council members are elected to represent one of four wards. Council members are elected for four-year terms. Elections are held in May of even-numbered years. The May 3, 2016, election will be for the mayor and the two at-large council members.

Current Council
Mary Katherine Greenlaw, Mayor
Bradford C. Ellis, Ward 1
William C. Withers, Jr., Ward 2
Timothy P. Duffy, Ph.D., Ward 3
Charlie L. Frye, Jr., Ward 4
Kerry P. Devine, At-Large
Matthew J. Kelly, At-Large

Matt Kelly Announces Re-Election Run

Jane Shelhorse Named Fredericksburg Parks, Recreation & Public Facilities Director

Top 10 Local Government Stories of 2015

Subscribe To Daily News Updates

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news from The Free Press

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This