Susan Spears (center) accepts the Metzger Award from (l to r) Martha O’Keefe (2012 recipient) and Janel Donohue (2015 recipient). 

Fredericksburg Chamber President Susan Spears Receives Metzger Award

by | Nov 4, 2016 | Business

By Susan Larson. Photo by Susan Larson, copyright Fredericksburg.Today.

Fredericksburg Regional Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Susan Spears received the The Patricia Lacey Metzger Distinguished Achievement Award at the 23rd annual University of Mary Washington (UMW) Leadership Colloquium on November 3, 2016.

The Metzger Award, awarded annually since 1999, “recognizes individuals who uphold high standards in their personal and professional lives while fulfilling a career goal of significant stature.” It is given in memory of Patricia Lacey Metzger, a UMW professor and a founder of the Leadership Colloquium.

Spears has served as chamber president since 2010. She is also Executive Director for Leadership Fredericksburg, and serves on the boards of the Virginia Association of Chamber of Commerce Executives, University of Virginia Sorensen Institute for Political Leadership, Families of the Wounded Fund – Fredericksburg, and Rappahannock Goodwill Industries, among others. She was appointed by City Council to serve on the Fredericksburg Memorials Advisory Commission.

The Leadership Colloquium prepares women for leadership positions. Highlights include an annual conference on the first Thursday in November, quarterly networking events and a monthly blog.

Photos: UMW Hosts 23rd Annual Leadership Colloquium

Amanda Talbert Receives Metzger Award

Subscribe To Daily News Updates

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news from The Free Press

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Share This